Log in

About Us

The Literary Society of the Desert is a non-profit organization that was established in 2015 to continue a tradition of literary luncheons in the Valley.  Through the generosity of our Sponsors, Patrons, and Members we provide programs and financial support to promote literacy and the love of reading in our community.

In our inaugural year we organized five luncheons for more than 250 members and guests, hosted student groups from ten area schools to participate in a small group discussion with the featured author and also provided special project grants to every public library in the Coachella Valley.


Nancy D. Cunningham

Ms. Cunningham is the Founding President of the Literary Society of the Desert.  She retired from a career in both the corporate and non-profit worlds, serving as Manager of Stockholder Relations for General Motors and, prior to that, Manager of Educational Relations and Communications for General Motors Design. She was the Executive Director of the Detroit Historical Society and a corporate development officer for the University of Chicago. Nancy has always been an active community volunteer, serving many arts organizations in the Detroit area, including Cranbrook Academy of Art, The Detroit Symphony Orchestra, and the Detroit Artists Market.  She currently is a full-time resident of the Desert and has served on the Rancho Mirage Library Foundation, is a Founder of the Palm Springs Architectural and Design Museum, and is active in the McCallum Muses and the Coachella Valley Repertory Theater.

Joanne R. Mintz
Executive Vice President

A native New Yorker, Joanne was educated in Brooklyn Public Schools venturing to Ohio for her graduate studies. During her professional career she was a Psychologist for delinquent girls, Executive Vice President of Weight Watchers of Northern California and Greater Los Angeles, Administrator at Children's Health Council at Stanford, and owned and operated Antique Stores.  In 2000 Joanne and her husband, Myron, relocated to the desert where they have been major supporters of McCallum Theater, Eisenhower Hospital,  College of the Desert, First Tee, Well in the Desert,  City of Hope, and Hadassah Hospital.  A life long lover of books Joanne co- founded the Santa Rosa Readers  in 2001.

Michael V. Smith
Vice President
Community Relations

Michael Smith had a long tenure in trust and banking services with The Northern Trust Bank culminating his career as Regional President for the mid-California area.  He has a Master's Degree in Supervision of Administration and a B.A. In Education.  While having lived in the desert communities for over 20 years, he has served on numerous not-for-profit charitable boards including The McCallum Theatre, the Palm Springs Art Museum, and the College Of The Desert Foundation.  Michael is married, has two adult children, and one very spoiled granddaughter.

Donna R. Martin

Donna Reed Martin enjoys being the Secretary / Treasurer of LSD.  Having been a member of the Advisory Board for Desert Literary Society, she very much wanted to see a similar organization continue its tradition, so became a Founding Sponsor of LSD.  She is the office administrator of her husband's law firm, and enjoys volunteering in this wonderful desert.  Former board memberships include The Muses of the McCallumTheatre, past chairman of the Junior League Sustainers, La Quinta Arts Foundation, and Palm Desert High School PTO.  She loves tennis and singing, having sung first with the Pipers and then with Vox Feminae throughout Tuscany, including the mass at St. Peter's high altar in Rome!


Marge Dodge
Public Relations

Marge Dodge is a member of the Literary Society of the Desert Advisory Board. Her passions are education, literacy and the arts, and serves on four local non-profit boards promoting those areas of interest. She belongs to two book discussion groups and is a guest reporter for the Desert Sun.


Rosemarie Buntrock

Nancy Cunningham
Barbara Fremont
Mrs. Richard Garber
Carol Harris
Timmie Hollomon
Gretchen Heuring
Sis Jackson
Doug Martin, Esq.
Joanne Mintz

Robert L. Schein, AIF

Annette Smith

Sally St. John
Carlyn Stonehill

Alix Truax

Jean B. Viereck


Sheila Bailin
Paula Bastiaanse

Joyce Beaupre

Lorraine Becker
Nancy Benson
Lynda Biggs
Marlene Bilsky
Paula Bronson
Carrie Brookshire
Phoebe Biscow Brown
Jackie Coakley
Nancy Crandall
Kathleen Delaney
Nancy Fraiman
Joy Goldstein

Peggy Greenbaum

Toni Hafey

Lola Hagadone
Nan Harman
Nancy Herman
Bobbie Herrell
Helene Hixon
Michael Craft Johnson
Carole Haes Landon
Mikki Lewis
Li-Anne Mannix
Diane Maxwell

Gioconda McMillan
Judith Metz
Birgit Moller
Fran Muir

Anne Newman
Tim Radigan-Brophy
Suzi Richards
Twanna Rogers
Marilyn Rosskam
Beth Shaw

David Shaw

Michael Smith
Barbara Sylvor-Marks
January Ward

Karla Waterman

Linda Weakley
JoAnn Wellner
David Wilson


Jane Arthur

Marge Barry

Jackie Coakley

Suzanne Feder

Lynda Feiwell

Cora Ginsberg
Inga Golay

Lola Hagadone
Karen Heiferman
Libby Hoffman

Suz Hunt

Loreen Jacobson

Ruth Kaufman

Marilyn Leven

Darlene Mour

Dianne Nilsen

Mary Pasquesi

Mary Lynn Rose

Elise Sacks

Susanne Schiffer

Sherry Schor

Jane Woolley


Lynn Armstrong
Laura Bellows
Candy Clevenger
Marge Dodge
Sally Douglas

Cheryl Duryea
Barbara Foster Monachino

Malinda Gilchrist

Susan Goodman

Lola Hagadone
Sharon Kelsch
Joanne Mullen
Donivee Nash

Rona Press

Barbara Spencer

© 2017 Literary Society of the Desert

Website Maintenance by AquaZebra.com

Literary Society of the Desert is a
501(c)3 non-profit organization.

Go to top of page

P.O. Box 10121
Palm Desert, CA 92255
(760) 289-0173

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software